Sometimes, I Can’t Make Up My Mind

single-leaf-effects-optionsWent out for a walk yesterday, my normal every-other-day-five-miler, and I saw a leaf stuck on the side of a tree. I liked how it just hung there, shivering as the breeze tried to dislodge it. I wondered how long it would take before it gave up its grip.

So, smartphone in hand, I made the shot.

Later on, with all these post processing options, I couldn’t make up my mind which way to go:

  • a straightforward enhancement
  • a B&W contrasty, grainy approach
  • a painterly effect
  • a swirly exaggerated effect

I suppose it’s up to the beholder and his or her eyes. You may not like any of these treatments. I talk about the “magic” that made me stop and take the shot. It’s that “it” that grabs you. Sometimes I can make the viewer see the magic. Maybe it was the experience I had of wondering how long the leaf would survive. As it turned out, the answer was – about a minute.

But I had the shot…all four of it.

fall-maple-leaf-on-tree-trunk fall-maple-leaf-on-tree-trunk-bw fall-maple-leaf-on-tree-trunk-tli2 fall-maple-leaf-on-tree-trunk-tli


This next one was kind of a no-brainer. It was the bottom of the tree truck on which the leaf above had become wedged in the bark. As I was going through the effects, I really liked this crazy, swirly lines one.

foliage-and-tree-trunk-tli-swirly-lines-1600w

2 thoughts on “Sometimes, I Can’t Make Up My Mind

  1. I think smartphone cameras are amazing. I saw some test results for the new Google Pixel phone’s camera. Unbelievable. I won’t get one any time soon, but it’s nice to know stuff like this is available.

    I really wish the smartphones behaved more like cameras, though. They are still a bit awkward to use when all you want is a camera.

    Like

Leave a Reply

