Coffee Cup, Chair, Lamp And Window

P1080141_TM_BW12-v2I shot this in Maine in 2015. My recent experiments with HDR dynamic range expansion on a single raw image (using Photomatix) made me want to revisit this scene. I immediately liked how the chair and pillow came out in the B&W effect. Even the coffee cup was made to stand out.

I didn’t like the clouds, though. Tone-mapping doesn’t always handle skies and clouds in a way that I like. So, I used two different HDR’d images. The first gave me the lower half, the second kept the clouds more realistic. I layered them, the masked-in the parts I wanted.

Better.

Leave a Reply

