Fun With ON1’s Paparazzi Effect

I just got ON1 Photo 10; they made an offer I couldn’t refuse. So, I decided to go through some older photos and see what trouble I could cause. I found a few from 2007 that I made during a visit to Turners Falls. I had looked at a bunch of tutorials that the On 1 folks put together, but decided my own trial and error process would be as much fun. The tutorials were informative, but doing your own thing? …I think sometimes better.

In doing my own thing, I discovered one preset that I really liked. It’s called Paparazzi.

TurnersFalls20070707-DSC_4041 copy

Turners Falls is a mill town and most of these photos are on the canal that feeds the mill buildings. Of course, they either been updated or abandoned, but the area is maintained with a scenic walkway and an awesome Visitor Center that provides a lot of excellent information about the Connecticut River Valley from the Atlantic to the headwaters.

TurnersFalls20070707-DSC_4032 copy

That Paparazzi effect is part of ON1’s Black and White Presets. It has a gritty kind of high-contrast feel with a Kodak T-Max 3200 grain. With today’s cameras all touting super-high density sensors, it’s nice to have the illusion of silver halide particles which, I think, B&W images love.

TurnersFalls20070707-DSC_4040 copy

TurnersFalls20070707-DSC_4054 copy

The town has a park along the river, on the other side of the dam that feeds the canal. It was a pleasure to go there, too, and photograph people enjoying the day.

TurnersFalls20070707-DSC_4082 copy

Not only is Turners Falls interesting for the falls and canal. It’s home of the Hallmark Photographic Institute and the Hallmark Museum Of Contemporary Photography. The surround area is picturesque and has other interesting photo ops. In fact, if you go there, take the time to visit Shelburne Falls for its charms.

 

Leave a Reply

