Stream Study In Charcoal

Stream At Summer Campground - 2014 Westfield MA YMCA -1200wWalking along a path in the woods to a performance by kids at a YMCA youth camp in Westfield, MA. We had to cross a bridge to get to where they would perform their skits. I knew, as I crossed a wooden bridge over this wide stream, that I would come back to photograph it. I had to wait for the crowd to clear because each footstep on the bridge made it shake. The light was falling and the forest setting made the contrast with the still bright sky troublesome for photography. I set the camera onto the handrail, waited for the shaking to stop from my own movements. Then I make a few exposures.

I knew this would require some sort of effect. I think I knew it would be charcoal when I made the photo.

Leave a Reply

