Jenne Farm Revisited

My Photo Gang at Jenne Farm

Had a chance to fool around with the new Photoshop CC that I’ve just subscribed to. It’s available at a discount price and I couldn’t resist. Later, when the price goes back to normal, I may reconsider. (It’s not like I do Photoshop professionally anymore.) I also have Paintshop Pro, and one may wonder why more than one photo editor. Answer? Because it’s there.

I was testing out how NIK Filters integrated with Photoshop. At first, it didn’t. A visit to the Internet got me straightened out. I decided to apply a wet plate look to this photo. Normally, a wet plate wouldn’t be a panorama. That’s because wet plates were pieces of glass (like 4×5, 5×7, 8×10 maybe). You’d have to have some strange, long and narrow glass and even stranger view camera to put it in. But, with computers, I can do this. I like how it turned out.

The back story is that this photo was taken when the June Hike Club Photo Gang went to Vermont for a long weekend a year ago (see my other post for more about this). We trampled all over the farmer’s field to get shots of the iconic farm house. Later, when we went down to the farm to buy some honey, we chatted with the farmer. He told me folks were always trampling his grass. He didn’t like that. I thought to myself, “well why the heck have one of the most photogenic farms in the first place?” …and besides, he had a box near the trample-spot for donations. We probably donated $20 in all (maybe more). So, no guilt. I’m sure that box makes more for him than a bit of trampled grass.

Oh, and as far as Photoshop versus Paintshop are concerned…strengths and weaknesses for sure. I like both.

BTW – I’m pretty sure this photo was one of the Photosynth jobs from the app by Microsoft that is only available for iPhones. This is why you get such a wide pano affect. I certainly no longer have a Nikon lens that could do this.

FWIW – why did I chose the wet plate look? Here is why…

WetPlateSolution

…you can see in the color original that the Photosynth software didn’t blend the individual captures all that well. There are exposure differences (you see lines in the road bed and grass) that would require a lot of blending to merge. The wet plate effect, on the other hand, adds a lot of this kind of intentional error automagically, so the ones that are already there just seem like they belong. Yeah, I’m lazy.

Leave a Reply

